road tripping to thirty

When faced with troubling situations, my father would sometimes say “don’t concentrate on the whole forest but instead cut one tree down at a time” and I have adopted this approach for my traveling adventures as well. At my old apartment, I had a map of the world (the forest) hanging on a wall and I would look at it and become overwhelmed because there were (and still are) so many places I would like to visit. But taking in consideration what my Dad would say I’m knocking these trees down one country, city, island and state at a time!

So as my thirtieth birthday quickly approached, I knew a trip was highly appropriate. I thought about doing my long awaited trip to Greece and Turkey or finally travel to Northern Africa but the more I thought overseas I asked myself what about the states!? Why do I always opt for overseas destinations instead of playing in my own “backyard”!? So viola…..the states it is! I began to think, “somewhere in the west for sure because I haven’t done it much justice and I’ve simply overdone the east coast. So maybe I should do a road trip from New Mexico to Arizona to Southern California and drive up the coast with Lake Tahoe as the final destination. Hmmmm, sounds great!!” I continued to think “that’s a lot of time off of work so maybe I’ll just stick to road tripping through one state. Why not just do New Mexico!” So there you have it folks, that’s how I arrived at road tripping to thirty through New Mexico and now that the trip has come to a close I must say this was by far one of the best trips I have ever taken.

Route 160. Durango, Colorado

moo

cloudy hill

route 160

sunset

untitled_67

_____________________________________________________________

Cottage. Ravens Ridge Bed & Breakfast. Sante Fe, New Mexico

sante fe cottage

enter

 claw foot tub!!!

untitled_152

untitled_156

untitled_82

untitled_169

untitled_171

bed & breakfast owners and guests

untitled_8

 _____________________________________________________________

Bandelier National Monument. Los Alamos, New Mexico

bandelier

Could you imagine making a home in the rock mountains pictured below? Well over 10,000 years ago, thats exactly what the Pueblo Native Americans did. Unbelievable!!

untitled_68

untitled_47

untitled_51

untitled_70

untitled_74

untitled_100

untitled_105

______________________________________________________________

Chimayo. Chimayo, New Mexico

chimayo

untitled_119

 ____________________________________________________________

Old Town. Sante Fe, New Mexico

 untitled_150

 _____________________________________________________________

Pueblo Cultural Center. Albuquerque, New Mexico

albuquerque

untitled_41

ceremonial re-enactment

untitled_47_1

untitled_50

untitled_68_1

untitled_71

untitled_86

untitled_96

 “Pueblo people will survive because our ancestors are with us”

untitled_112

untitled_136

untitled_139

untitled_146

untitled_149

 _____________________________________________________________

Sandia Peak. Albuquerque, New Mexico

sandia peak

untitled_185

untitled_187

10,000 feet.

untitled_194

untitled_210

______________________________________________________________

Unknown town, New Mexico

untitled_256

 _____________________________________________________________

White Sands National Park. Alamogordo, New Mexico

white sands

untitled_10

untitled_16

untitled_37

” Relationships, of all kinds, are like sand held in your hand. Held loosely, with an open hand, the sand remains where it is. The minute you close your hand and squeeze tightly to hold on, the sand trickles through your fingers. You may hold onto it, but most will be spilled. A relationship is like that. Held loosely, with respect and freedom for the other person, it is likely to remain intact. But hold too tightly, too possessively, and the relationship slips away and is lost.”   -Kaleel Jamison

Touche my friend, touche!

untitled_52

untitled_58

untitled_74_1

untitled_78

untitled_83

untitled_87

untitled_90

untitled_93

untitled_110

untitled_94

untitled_111

untitled_116

untitled_128

untitled_127

untitled_135

untitled_139_1

untitled_151_1

______________________________________________________________

Unknown town, New Mexico

pistachio

untitled_166

rainbow

A Rainbow; Gods Convenant. Genesis 9: 13-17

sunset

Fuel Mining. Indian Reservation

untitled_12

 _____________________________________________________________

Carlsbad Caverns. Carlsbad, New Mexico

carlsbad

untitled_39_1

untitled_44

untitled_57

untitled_111_1

untitled_140

untitled_121

 untitled_167_1

untitled_171_1

Carlsbad, New Mexico

untitled_188

untitled_194_1

untitled_196

untitled_209

I count each of my travels as an utter blessing and whether the trip is big or small, i try not to take one moment for granted. This was my first, and wont be my last time traveling by myself so go ahead and call me a loner but my ‘cup’ of curiosity and contentment runneth over by the end of this trip. I was so at peace! My home girl, called it my ‘eat, pray, love’ trip and i ain’t even mad at that label. For those of you, like myself, that thrive off of planning and taking the next trip I hope this post encourages you to go ahead and book that trip you have been mulling over. And for those that want to travel but your means, fears and/or imagination just wont let you be great then I pray this post is part of your breakthrough.

untitled_205

Until next time…..besos!

6 thoughts on “road tripping to thirty

Leave a Reply

